Harvard University’s Goldsmith Investigative Reporting Prize - Studycor

Harvard University’s Goldsmith Investigative Reporting Prize



City (Metropolitan Area):

Applicant Eligible Countries:

Type of Opportunity:

Study Levels:


Application Deadline: December 29, 2017

Funding: The winner receives $25,000, and five finalists receive $10,000.

Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

The Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics, and Public Policy at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government invites students to apply for the annual Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting. This award honors investigative reporting that promotes ethical and effective conduct of government, along with the creation of public policy.

The lucky recipient of the award will receive $25,000, while five finalists will receive $10,000. The subject matter may relate to foreign policy, but the successful application must have an impact on public policy in the United States as well. The issue addressed in the proposal and project should be something that impacts the individual or team on a local, regional, statewide, or national level.

These awards are funded by annual grants from the Goldsmith Fund of the Greenfield Foundation. Applications for the 2018 prize are now being accepted, with a deadline for all submissions set at December 29, 2017. To apply, students should submit an application that includes contract and application details, along with a detailed submission of work. This submission should include the news organization, title of investigative work, additional involved news organizations, a one-sentence summary of the entry, and a description of the actual or potential impact of entry.

Applicants should also include brief essays addressing questions related to the “story” behind the investigation. Although the award is designed for individual professionals, entries from small and mid-size publications (as well as comparable broadcast/online outlets) are welcomed. Entries may consist of a series of articles on a particular topic, but the submission should be limited to no more than ten installments. No more than four authors should be credited per team.

Materials should be submitted as a link-friendly URL and print-friendly PDF. All questions (and applications, if desired) should be submitted to Tim Bailey at tim_bailey@hks.harvard.edu.

To learn more and apply, click here.

Subscribe to our mailing list

In order to receive the latest updates of study and scholarship opportunities worldwide.

Comments are closed.